Thank you ABET for the 2016 Claire Felbinger Award for Diversity @ABETaccredit #ThinkBigDiversity


It is an honor and a privilege to be named the 2016 winner of the Claire Felbinger Award for Diversity from ABET. Thank you to all who nominated me, and thank you for finding value in my work. I also thank all of the people who help me to do what I do on a daily basis. The members of The Graduate School at UMBC give me freedom, support, and encouragement to tackle problems and develop solutions. Thank you to all of my colleagues within the University System of Maryland, within National Science Foundation programs, thanks to all in the engineering space and in the “global STEM” arena who invite me to share views and offer thoughts that can collectively push us forward.

As always, my family and friends hold me up, pray for me, cheer for me, and are always there. My dad, the late George C. Garrison, loved math and was an engineer. He is the one who convinced me to go to Howard University and try electrical engineering. Daddy, I salute you!

The award was announced here: http://www.abet.org/blog/news/announcing-the-2016-abet-award-recipients/

About the award: http://www.abet.org/about-abet/awards/claire-l-felbinger-award-for-diversity/

There will be a gala awards ceremony at the end of October 2016.

sept-2016

Photo taken September 2016 at the Keck Building of The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Washington, DC

 

 

 

About ABET: 

We accredit college and university programs in the disciplines of applied science, computing, engineering, and engineering technology at the associate, bachelor, and master degree levels.
With ABET accreditation, students, employers, and the society we serve can be confident that a program meets the quality standards that produce graduates prepared to enter a global workforce.

REF: http://www.abet.org/about-abet/

 

 

About Claire Felbinger

When awards are named after an individual, it’s because they did something special for a particular cause, and because that person was special to the people who surrounded and worked with her or him.

Here is information about Dr. Felbinger from the ABET website:

As a Public Member on our Board of Directors from 1998 to 2004, Claire L. Felbinger was a driving force for inclusion and led the first committee to formally bring the issue of diversity to the attention of the Board.

She was a tireless advocate for efforts to promote diversity and set in motion the work that is still being done today. Under her leadership, the Public Member Committee launched initiatives to consider and publish ABET Expert diversity statistics, issue a formal policy on diversity, and the creation of the President’s Award for Diversity in 2005.

Dr. Felbinger passed away suddenly in her home on May 28, 2008. To honor her legacy, the award that she helped create now bears her name. [ABET website]

 

 

(Note: The featured image combines the UMBC tweet with the photo from the National Academies for this post only. The original tweet from UMBC does not include the photo, which is the property of my husband, Dr. Damon Tull. Thank you for everything Damon!)

