My 12-Year @UMBC & @PROMISE_AGEP Anniversary is today. I started on April 1, 2003.


It’s humbling to remember that first day on the job at UMBC. I was excited, and ready to start a new program. They gave me an empty office, and a copy of the NSF proposal for an award known as the Maryland AGEP. That was it. We’ve come a long way from that day. Our publications say so! (https://promiseagep.wordpress.com/publications/) Of course, the real markers of success are the students themselves.  Some of my grad students have passed away, several have lost loved ones along the way. However, I cannot begin to express the joy that I feel when I see the triumphs, large and small. There have been so many graduations, awards, and we now have professors who have tenure! I’m starting to feel older now … I have students whom I met in undergrad who now have their PhDs and are doing great things. Congratulations to all of you. I’m here because of all of you. The students, postdocs, staff, faculty, administrators, AGEP family at large, NSF, and supporters at large. Thank you for supporting our programs, thank you for supporting me. I am at your service!

Photo taken during my first year as the PROMISE Director. This was the first cohort of Peer Mentors; they gave me a surprise birthday party!

Photo taken during my first year as the PROMISE Director. This was the first cohort of Peer Mentors; they gave me a surprise birthday party! Note that Jessica is in this photo. Our paper on “The Jessica Effect” tells her story.  Congratulations to everyone!

