Taking something off of my plate


Today I’m contemplating taking something off of my plate.  Other than food (desserts, extra carbs, snacks) – which don’t need to be on the plate in the first place, I’m thinking about activities, initiatives, and projects.  The question is what … what do I remove? I’m having one of those days where I want to save the children, save the students, study languages, write a book, direct new programs, all while going back to my old days of being the “go-to girl in Step Class” (Thanks to my friend Nina C. from Northwestern … it was a ritual in grad school!), cooking and baking up a storm (I’m glad that my carrot cake cupcakes went over well at Thanksgiving!), etc.  Oh, and how can I forget things like being a good wife, sister, daughter, friend? These should have been first.  I realized a while ago that I can’t do everything in church like I used to or want to.  There’s a season for everything. So while I no longer sing on the choir (like I did in NJ), or work with the Youth Ministry (like I did in Chicago-land), or teach in the Children’s Ministry (like I did in Wisconsin), and am only in town part-time to serve with the Deaf Ministry or Deaconcare (ala Baltimore), I am resolved that I have a decent balance at church, but not in the other areas of my life.

As I write, I remember the words of my pastor from Matthew about seeking God first.  I should take a deep breath and do that.  I’ve heard it so many times in the KJV version (Matt 6:33).

33But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

But as I’m writing this, I ‘m going to look it up in The Message version.

Here it is:

Matthew 6:33 (The Message)

30-33“If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

Hmmm.  Ok.  So … I’m going to think about things to cut out, something to take off of my plate, realizing that it will be ok in the long run. But what should that thing or those things be? I’m open to suggestions. 🙂

