The Situation at VA Tech


I was stunned this afternoon when one of the PROMISE Graduate Assistants at UMCP came into the office and asked if I’d heard about VA Tech. I hadn’t, so I went to google news immediately. It’s nearly 8 p.m and I’m still peeled to the TV news to see if I can learn more. My Goodness! I care about all of the victims, and this especially hits home because as a campus administrator, I’m naturally concerned about the students on any campus. I’m also wondering about the well-being of our fellow NSBE, SHPE, and AISES students … especially since the shootings took place in Norris Hall, the Engineering Building. In NSBE, VA Tech is in Region II, and I used to be the Region II Vice Chair many years ago. My thoughts and prayers are with the families and friends of the students, faculty, and staff who were lost in this tragic event. May peace reign going forward.

